Not sure if He is normal

kirdy

My Russian Henry has been very mellow since I got him a week ago. He walks a lot when I take him out of his enclosure (which is small right now because I am working on building him a big one)... Iv bathed him twice since I got him, been trying to feed him right and spraying his bark with water to TRY and keep it humid, but I live in Central Oregon and it's super dry here... I left for work 8 hours ago and found Henry in the exact same position under his log... I held him to make sure he is alive and he reacts but then just wants to close his eyes.. I'm so afraid, I'm new to taking care of reptiles in general and I'm so afraid he will die on me!

stojanovski92113

Tortoise Club
Is Henry a baby tortoise? Babies do sleep a lot. If he is a baby tortoise daily warm soaks are necessary. Can you post a picture of his enclosure? What kind of lighting are you housing for Henry? Do you use coil bulbs? If so, they are pretty bad for tortoises eyes and can cause blindness. What are your temperatures? We can help you more if there is a picture and more info on his enclosure. Do you let him walk around your house? It can be dangerous if you do because the temperature is much different on the ground and he can be getting a draft. Also Henry could have possibly ingested something small which is making him not feel well. But if you give us more info., we will help you :) as I don't keep Russian torts, others will chime in to help you out too!!

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
Remember tortoises often need adjustment time to a new enclosure. but please answer R/S/T's questions.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona