Outdoor enclosure

Big Ol Tortoise

Location (City and/or State)
pflugerville Tx
So I have been slowly turning one of my 2 garden boxes into a Box turtle pin for Mrs.Turtle. This is it so far ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1477930380.855536.jpg
I'm using a box as a hide since I don't know what else to use. ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1477930432.971561.jpg
I'd like if it wasn't just dirt. Are there any safe grasses or weeds you guys use?ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1477930519.295806.jpg
Are these peppers ok for her to eat? Or will it be too hot. I'm also wanting to make one end of the box be water but we will see. Also she hasn't hibernate in 15 plus years. Is she still able to?

Last edited:

blueyedmama

I'm a newbie to turtles but where are you from? I'm not sure three toeds could hibernate out of their natural climate range?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
There are all kinds of plants you can use. I just go through Lowe's garden shop and pick what I like. Since the box turtles aren't all that interested in eating plants, I don't really pay attention to if they're edible or not. A couple weeks ago I bought several small pots of mums, two or three different kind of daisy-like flowers, lots of pansies and violas and a few ferns. See if you can't find an old piece of rotten wood to replace that cardboard box as a hiding place. And for shade you can plant a small rose of sharon or banana tree.

Big Ol Tortoise

pflugerville Tx