Pink/red shell under my hermanns?

AbboLoud

Location (City and/or State)
Tipton
Its been vets several times for blood poisoning antibiotics and was fine but the past week its came back more red than pink, i read it could be the substrate theyre being kept on or could be from letting them roam on the laminate flooring, im still new to owning torts and have done alot of research, i have 2 hermanns 2 yr old and 2 horsfield 1 yr old they all live in the same enclosure as the vet said it was fine if all are CB... already seen several posts on here about not mixing but also read how others have mixed without problems? Someone please shed a lil light please..

jockma

5 Year Member
Los Angeles County
The consensus on here that I’ve seen is mixing species is never a good idea. I would strongly recommend separating them anyways, since one has been sick.

If they have been treated for septicemia and you see a resurgence of red/pink discoloration, it only makes sense to assume the cause is septicemia. If the tortoise was otherwise healthy, tested negative for infections but has a slight pink color, perhaps it could be something else...but your tortoise has been septic, so that is likely the cause of the discoloration.

You may need to resume antibiotic treatment. They will not improve without being separated from the other tortoises.

AbboLoud

Tipton
The consensus on here that I’ve seen is mixing species is never a good idea. I would strongly recommend separating them anyways, since one has been sick.

If they have been treated for septicemia and you see a resurgence of red/pink discoloration, it only makes sense to assume the cause is septicemia. If the tortoise was otherwise healthy, tested negative for infections but has a slight pink color, perhaps it could be something else...but your tortoise has been septic, so that is likely the cause of the discoloration.