Preventing pyramiding

Pbennett

Location (City and/or State)
Staffordshire
Hi,

So I am completely new to tortoises, having done plenty of research into them so far. I haven’t yet got my tortoise but I have decided that I want to get a pyramid tortoise when I do.

I have also read lots of conflicting advice on the conditions and enclosures andfrom first reading they like high templow humidity, I have recently discovered that they actually like high heat and high humidity.

I really want to get all of this right before I start, so I have a coffee table. (Large) which I am planning to convert into a vivarium. I have read this enables the humidity to stay high!!
I’m in the uk so I would appreciate views of different set ups and things to buy.

after reading I have decided to get separate uv/heat bulbs. 12% uv. And keep the heat bulb on at night to ensure it stays hot. With a cooler area too. What holders do you have and what bulbs? How do you connect them to a thermostat and which are the best ones?
Humidifiers/foggers/misters, do water falls have an impact on humidity?. Which is best to buy? I want to ensure that the conditions are perfect and plan on setting it up and maintaining it for about a month before I get my tortoise to ensure I get the conditions right.
I am going to add real plants, use soil for the substrate, add mossy hides, water bowl and obviously ensure I follow the first correctly adding supplements.
Any advice will be much appreciated as I just want to ensure I get it right.

Blackdog1714

5 Year Member
Richmond, VA
Check this thread out it is awesome for most tortoises young to old. BTW you thread is prevent pyramiding and you are looking for a pyramid tortoise is this correct?

Pbennett

Staffordshire
Check this thread out it is awesome for most tortoises young to old. BTW you thread is prevent pyramiding and you are looking for a pyramid tortoise is this correct?