Questions about tortoise!

Status
Not open for further replies.

keiraliang

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Dallas, TX
I been looking for tortoises and reading things about tortoise.

I am new to tortoise! so might ask some stupid question, please don't be mad at me :D trying to learn!..:)

My questions...:D
1. Sellers on kingsnake, are they reliable? Which seller do you recommend? Which seller you don't recomment?

2. What does "pyramids" means when you are talking about a tortoise?

3. What's conisder as good color for tortoise? shell and skin..

4. Does tortoises needs light at night? or just need heat?

5. I went to homedepot and saw some working clamp light fixture. would that work the same as the one in pet store?

Thank you everybody!:D

S

Scooter

Welcome to the forum! You will find lots of help and info here.

1. I am not sure I have never purchased from that site.
2. Pyramiding is when the new shell growth, grows vertical instead of horizontal. This causes each scute to be up raised instead of growing smooth.
3. The color depends on the species of tortoise. Do you have a specific one in mind?
4. The do not need light at night and heat only if the room temp goes too low at night, most seem to say if it goes below around 65 they need heat.
5. That fixture should work fine just make sure you secure it with wire or screw not just the clamp it comes with.

keiraliang

5 Year Member
Dallas, TX
Thank you for replying :D!

For tortoise color..
Could you tell me how to look at Russian, Greek and Hermanns's color?

Thank you :)

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State