Red-eared slider

Nirvan Gurung

I have been keeping this red eared slider for almost 2 years now and have always been having some issues with it, whenever I introduce it to other red eared sliders that I have bought, my tortoise will always stay away from it but then the next day, the new tortoise dies. Whenever I hold it, it acts aggressive towards me. Now, I can NEVER put another tortoise in its habitat without it attacking the new tortoises. How do I solve this problem, am I caring for it the wrong way or is it just an aggressive species?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

Yes, RES are aggressive. I've never been able to find one that doesn't try to bite when picked up. They can get along together, though. I have 6 right now in the same water trough waiting for someone to come adopt them.

I think maybe your water container (aquarium?) is too small and your turtle doesn't want to share that small space with another turtle.

Post a picture of your turtle and her container and maybe we can offer you some suggestions.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
I have been keeping this red eared slider for almost 2 years now and have always been having some issues with it, whenever I introduce it to other red eared sliders that I have bought, my tortoise will always stay away from it but then the next day, the new tortoise dies. Whenever I hold it, it acts aggressive towards me. Now, I can NEVER put another tortoise in its habitat without it attacking the new tortoises. How do I solve this problem, am I caring for it the wrong way or is it just an aggressive species?