Rheostat or thermostat?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TommyZ

5 Year Member
I have the repti-therm under tank heating pad from zoomed, the largest size they make. What is the best device to hook it up to for regulation? A rheo or thermo stat? I have a cherry head hatchling so the pad is on 24/7 which creates the humidity, and makes his hide cozy warm. What do you all think is best? Thanks!

Tom

WillTort2

5 Year Member
I've heard bad things about the under tank heaters. But I'm no expert.

This bump may get you a better answer.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Kingman, Arizona
In my opinion, overhead heat sources are best for tortoise/turtles and most basking reptiles. I feel this is closer to the real world where the sun heats the animals back as opposed to geological heating. Heat radiating in a downward fashion just seems to make more sense to me.

TommyZ

5 Year Member
Yep, she has two light, a powersun a d an infrared, the heat pad is used mostly for creating humidity, im just not sure which control is best?

ulkal

5 Year Member
Some forum members, including me, use this:

http://www.bigappleherp.com/BAH-1000-Thermostat

I have a heat cable for the same purpose (creating humidity). The thermostat probe is on the cold side.
You can set the temperature with a thermostat more precisely, and then figure the rest out with temp gun and thermometer.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
So this is the set up I'm most comfortable using. First, I have a zoomed Powersun on a 12hr. cycle.
This maintains the heat very well in my enclosed habitat for my baby sulcata during daylight hours, as well as providing my higher temp basking spot.