Shell Health Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noodles

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hullo. I'm a newbie Russian Tortoise owner, and I'm fairly concerned about the health of my new baby, Om Nom Nom.

She(?) came from a PetCo, which means she was likely a wild tortoise (she has a bit of shell damage.) Anyway, I've taken her to a vet to be de-wormed and checked for parasites, but I'm still a little concerned about the state of her shell. Her shell is flaky and, a while ago, she even lost a small chunk. All the damage appears to be superficial - and the vet wasn't terribly concerned - but I guess I can't help being a bit worried. She behaves normally and runs around doing normal tortoise things, so, whatever it is, it isn't affecting her everyday life so far.

Her skin and face seems a bit dry as well.

We live in Minnesota, and, as such, the air is currently very, very dry. She has a shallow water dish for bathing although I've kept the overall cage humidity pretty low. Would this affect anything?

Here's an image of the tort in question:

tortsmall.jpg

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
USA
Hi,
She/he looks good to me :D If you post a plastron picture we can give a go at sexing.
You can run a humidifier in the room with her. Russians can take air humidity very well, they just don't want to be on a constantly damp substrate.

Danny

Noodles

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Here's a picture of Nom Nom's plastron. She/he(?) was a mite upset at being flipped over for the image so it's a little blurry as she was kicking a lot.

It's on the plastron that a large chunk of shell came off... you can kinda see the spot.

Was I wrong on calling my little baby a girl?

IMG_0146flip.jpg

IMG_0144flip.jpg

Thanks for the suggestion... we probably need a humidifier anyway... MY skin is getting dry. :)

Jentortmom

10 Year Member!
Arizona