Sick tortise?

Potatosammie

Hello! I'm new to this thingy but every time I search questions about my tortise this website comes up so I figured I might as well join and ask my own question. Okay so I have a baby red footed tortise that I got in August this year. I just noticed today that the corners of his mouth seem to be very torn up and look painful. He doesn't show signs of pain and is eating like normal. Also, I've noticed his eyes seem very swollen a lot of the time. I soak him and they open up after a while but they don't seem as bright as they used to... I think it may be a humidity thing but I'm not sure... Also in general the skin looks dry and cracked and his neck is kinda yellow ish but that may be normal. Are there any suggestions on how to improve humidity or diet to prevent these issues? I usually just give him greens and sometimes a fruit or vegetable and I use reptile carpeting for bedding- I used loose bedding before but it would just get stuck in his eyes or he would try to eat it... Thanks!!!!

G-stars

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

What are your temps? Warm side? Cool side? Basking? And night?

Red foots need high humidity and a well balanced diet. Also your substrate isn't ideal for your tortoise. Something that holds moisture would be best.

bouaboua

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
San Jose CA
Hello and Welcome. You are in the good hand so far......We are glad to have you here. Welcome! !

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California