Sleep & Bedding...

Britni

Hi everyone! I'm new to the tortoise forums and also a pround owner of a 5 month old sulcata, Flynn! I've done my research and pretty much have the hang of taking care of the little guy, but had a couple questions. Firstly, I've noticed he's been sleeping a little bit more than when I first got him. The first weeks, he had to be out and about all the time, walking everywhere, and the past couple weeks all he's been doing is sleeping and I pretty much have to pull him out of his cave to eat or soak. Should I be concerned or is this normal for babies? Nothing has changed since the first weeks, same food, same enclosure, same lamp. Also while I'm here, can someone tell me what's the best bedding to use for and indoor enclosure? I've seen multiple ideas, and I've been using pellet-type bedding out of recommendation from a fellow sulcata owner. But with this bedding, whenever Flynn walks in and out of his water dish, the bedding gets wet, expands, and gets mushy, which is a pain to clean up and also starts to smell awful. Any sort of brand of bedding you guys recommend or should I stick to pellets? Thanks!

leigti

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
southeast Washington
I would recommend coconut coir. It holds moisture well, doesn't usually mold, and will pass through if they eat any of it.

leigti

5 Year Member
southeast Washington
What type of bulb are you using? If it is a compact fluorescent bulb then it may be hurting his eyes. Also, what are the temperatures? Are there plenty of hides and site barriers to make him feel more comfortable? A picture of the tortoise and the enclosure would be great. We love pictures around here and it can help people make more specific suggestions.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California