Tort table setup - lamp placement

Location (City and/or State)
Somerset, UK
Hi, I'm still very new to the tortoise parent club, so looking for some advice. We have recently upgraded the size of our tort table for our 9 month Greek Spur Thigh, and I'm not sure if the lamp we have is enough. George (our little one) is in an indoor enclosure measuring 1.1m x 0.4m. We have him set up with an Arcadia mercury vapour D3 100w basking lamp, placed centrally. We're in the UK and just heading into winter so temperatures are falling. Temperatures in his enclosure are around 45*C/114*F directly under the lamp, and 19*C/66*F at the furthest point. Recently George has become more lethargic and is sleeping more. I'm wondering if a second lamp at the end of the enclosure would encourage him to move/eat more? It would still leave one "cold" end for him to move to. Or is this just a seasonal thing with tortoises heading into winter? I'd really appreciate some advice on the benefits of a second lamp, and if the 100w bulb is the best option. We've had the bulb 6 months now, which is recommended replace time, so if there's a better option I'll replace it with something different. Cheers!

Attachments

• 20181030_150918.jpg
    20181030_150918.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 51

Minority2

Tortoise Hell
1. A 115F basking spot temperature is too high. The "basking spot" which is directly under the basking lamp fixture should be around 95-100F for closed chamber enclosures. 95-105F for open enclosures.

2. A 66F ambient daytime temperatures is low. 70-75F should be the minimum for daytime "cool side" temperatures.

3. The walls of your current enclosure is too low. A growing tortoise may be able to scale the sides if motivated enough. I also recommend using a closed chamber style enclosure for United Kingdom tortoise owners because of how cold it can get over there.