tortoise plastron moving

Victoriab

Location (City and/or State)
England
I was giving my tortoise a bath and i noticed that her plastron moves when i press it gently similar to a plastic pringles lid. i’ve been searching for answers for around 2 weeks but i cant find anything. At first i thought it was just her plastron near her tail but now i realised that its her entire plastron. Shes around 2 years old and a hermann. Could it be because she hasnt had enough calcium? thanks

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
Do you give her calcium? I am not an expert but the soft plastron could be from the lack of calcium

Victoriab

England
Do you give her calcium? I am not an expert but the soft plastron could be from the lack of calcium
unfortunately around 3 months my tortoise didnt have calcium for a while because i couldnt get any, now she has cuttlebone in her enclosure and i sprinkle some on her food though, she never seems interested in the cuttlebone

jaizei

Unknown Member
10 Year Member!
Earth
unfortunately around 3 months my tortoise didnt have calcium for a while because i couldnt get any, now she has cuttlebone in her enclosure and i sprinkle some on her food though, she never seems interested in the cuttlebone

What are you using for UVB?

Jan A

Boulder, CO
im not sure exactly but i think its an exo terra 100w
Welcome to the forum. Perhaps some photos & a little more info would help. It is good you have identified a concern, but it's hard to help diagnose w/o more info.