Tribute to an ole'(old) Finch!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nay

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Belchertown Ma
I got into raising finches in about 1990.I studied up on care and housing and just dove into it. It had started with a pair of Strawberry finches that someone had to give up.Most people know the ''beep 'beep 'beep of the Zebra finches, but the Strawberrys have a song. Finches are closely related to canaries and the Strawberrys have a song that is a bit quieter, but none the less extremely beautiful.
Anyway I found a breeder of many exotic ones in PA and ordered a few pairs. It got me soo hooked! Had hubby build these long flight cages, ordered all these special diets and away we go!! Some of these birds are so specific to breed they wouldn't even consider it unless they were eating live food! Who knew. Who also knew I would be then also breeding mealworms(easy). They had special lights, just like torts, on timers cause their egg laying coincided with lighting. Oh what fun!!
Well, as much research as I did, I didn't really think things through and having 1 or 2 pairs of birds does not alot of babies to sell produce!! I then would feel wrong to sell a pair that were brother and sister and on to my trying to keep track of who was who!! I then had to get into banding and paperwork to know who not to sell with who! And the mess!! Maggie you think Bob is bad, well imagine the mess when you reach in to get a specific bird, and they are just about wild birds! Seed everywhere! Never mind these are all hand made cages, and our first time making them to boot! Although you can buy this tubing to put around all your cut edges, invariability there are some you can't cover, and having made them 8 feet long you they seem to get just where you really have to stretch and that sharp edges owhhhh. (I have more scratches from those cages than 25 years of handling cats!)