What is the difference between Heating lamp, basking light & UVB

Alw1990

Location (City and/or State)
Seattle, WA
Hi there! I am still learning and wanted to know the difference between these terms:

•Heating lamp
•Basking Light
•UVB Light

and if I am to have all lights going at once? And exactly what brand of bulbs do I need. I know duration 12 hours on and 12 hours off right? Also I have a total of (3) Russian tortoises
Two are in an enclosure these are the measurements: 26.5"L x 36.75"W x 12.5"H; Private Room: 26.5"L x 11.5"W x 12.5"H; Entrance: 8.5"W x 8"H

the newest tortoise he is in a smaller tank just until I get him examined this week and can obtain a larger space for him but I take them out weekly to walk.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Those enclosures are way too small. They need something at least 48x96", and bigger than that outdoors.

Also, they should never live as a pair. The tiro might work after quarantine, but it might not. Russians can be pretty aggressive with each other sometimes.

There are four elements to heating and lighting:
  1. Basking bulb. I use 65 watt floods from the hardware store. I run them on a timer for about 12 hours and adjust the height to get the correct basking temp under them. I also like to use a flat rock of some sort directly under the bulb.
  2. Ambient heat maintenance. I use ceramic heating elements or radiant heat panels set on thermostats to maintain ambient above 80 degrees day and night for tropical species. You'd only need day heat for a temperate species like Testudo or DT.
  3. Light. I use LEDs for this purpose. Something in the 5000-6500K color range will look the best. Most bulbs at the store are in the 2500K range and they look yellowish.