Witch one?

CharlieS2020

Location (City and/or State)
Ontario
Hello there I hope you all are enjoying your day so far. Last night I changed my tortoise substrate and changed the layout a bit. My dad helped me and was a little concerned with changing it. The main thing we changed is we took out the built in hide. I found she wasn’t use if it as much and some people on here have told me to take it out to give Charlie more room to walk. I’m not an expert so if you could help me I want to know in you opinion wich cage layout looks better for a year old eastern Hermann tortoise. You may also see that we added some plexi glass to the top this is so it will be more humid in the cage. Here are the two cages side bye side let me know witch one would be better.image.jpgimage.jpg
orCA0B0758-941F-402A-96DA-69F5DFF11373.pngthanks to enyone who helps!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It's hard for me to get the perspective. Can you stand back a bit from the enclosures so we can see the whole thing?

CharlieS2020

Ontario
It's hard for me to get the perspective. Can you stand back a bit from the enclosures so we can see the whole thing?
oh sorry i dient mention i only had one photo of the secound option but i couldent find it and this is the only one i could get. also do you think i should add the biult in hide back in even though she dident use it. i think how it is now gives her more walking room.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
No. I think removing that built in hide cover was a good move.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I'd connect the two and use both.

The coir needs to be dampened and hand packed.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Great that you have taken on board the advice.
I think it's better without the built in hide but the substrate looks too dry.