Advice requested for UV- A, B

Status
Not open for further replies.

gliska

5 Year Member
:(Just joined the site and I'm new to taking care of my leopard tortoise. I got him at just 65 grams in January 2010, he is not 650 grams last week so everything is good. He outgrew his 29 gallon long tank so I built a 25" wide by 72" long table with lights that hang down. I have the new ZooMed industrial strength (18"x18") pad inside his enclosure for sleeping with an unheated area so he can choose to be on it or not...Here's my question: When he was in his small incloseure it was easy to regulate/position the ZooMed vapor heat/UV-A, B light over him and the pattern/color of his shell were proof it worked. Now with my enclosure so much larger - what do you experts do to make sure he/she basks under it for an appropriate amount of time to have it work its magic? Are they innately intuitive to seek the light and do what nature would intend to do? Any insight or comments would be appreciate.

Gary

Attachments

• GBL Tortoise Table.jpg
    GBL Tortoise Table.jpg
    171.4 KB · Views: 44

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Gary:

Welcome to the forum!!

I don't think you have to worry about your baby getting the correct amount of UV. The "rays" don't just go straight down from the light. They will be all over the habitat (great-looking habitat, by the way. I particularly love the hand painted 'scape on the back wall!) You might consider making the hiding place a little more closed in. Leopard tortoises usually hide under bushes in the wild and he will feel more comfortable and safer if he has "branches" or something to crawl under. How about a picture of your baby? Where are you located?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California