After I replaced the torts substrate

Opm21

hello,

I'm a newbie to this page. So I have two Eastern hermanns tortoise. Apollo and Hemera. I've had them for a year already. Recently I cleaned out their cage and changed the substrate. When I did it, both of them went "crazy". They paced very fast all over in their enclosure. They would go in the area where they "used to" sleep and walk right out. It's been a few days and I haven't seen them sleep in there. The female would run around trying to go underneath Apollo and try to flip him over or something. Apollo hasn't behaved in any type of way where he wants to mate. The female would scratch along the walls, step all over their food bowl and water. I don't know why they been behaving this way. This is them right now. Anyone have an idea on why they are behaving this way? Thanks

IMG_1910.JPG

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Lots of things here needs to be changed. The enclosure is way too small for two tortoises. In fact it's only good for 1 or 2 hatchlings. They also need to be housed in their own larger enclosure. Tortoise don't do good in pairs and you already witnesses the bulling that can happen. ASAP get them in their own large 4x8 foot enclosure before one gets hurt, sick or dead.

Opm21

Lots of things here needs to be changed. The enclosure is way too small for two tortoises. In fact it's only good for 1 or 2 hatchlings. They also need to be housed in their own larger enclosure. Tortoise don't do good in pairs and you already witnesses the bulling that can happen. ASAP get them in their own large 4x8 foot enclosure before one gets hurt, sick or dead.