alternative heat source - new please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

starpython

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
NW Florida
I've been watching and researching here for a while now and finally joined up so I'm totally new at this.
I have a red foot that was estimated to be about one year old when I adopted him. His name is Sicily. It's been a work in progress trying to get his habitat just right and with so much info out there I'm feeling a little conflicted and confused.
I need an alternative heat source for his enclosure for day and night. I don't want to use a CHE because I have a very curious kitten that will likely get herself burned.
I've looked into the Mega Ray heat projector, but can't seem to find anyone around that is using it for tortoise habitats. Any thoughts? I've been using a red heat bulb, but it's too bright for him. I was thinking about switching that to a black light for night, but not sure what kind.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I just use the cheapy black lights that Wal-Mart sells. Sometimes they're made by GE and sometimes they're an off-the-wall brand. The ones I buy are usually 60 watts. But why would you think a kitten would be tempted to touch a CHE but not a black light?

Oh, and...WELCOME to the forum!!

starpython

5 Year Member
NW Florida
I find my kitten (Echo) on top of little Sicily's enclosure all the time near the red heat lamp. I think she's curious about him and also enjoys the warmth. So from what I understand the CHE's give off a lot more heat then regular bulbs. Even with a screen around the lamp I don't want to risk her getting burned.
I've also been reading that they suck a lot more power then a mega ray or other bulbs. I don't want my power bill getting too crazy.

coreyc

10 Year Member!
Massachusetts