Am I taking care of my Redfooted Tortoise properly?

tamlelover123

Location (City and/or State)
portland oregon
Hey, fellow tortoise owners! I am brand new to having a tortoise and taking care of one. I have had her now for about 4 weeks (since mid Nov). I thought I was doing things right until my red-footed cherry-head tortoise (named Tamale) stopped eating and pooping, pretty much as soon as I set up her home here (after only a few days). She was still drinking water but just not eating. We purchased Tamale from our local Petco here in Portland Oregon. I am writing this in hopes that I can get some feedback on what I might be doing right as well as what I may be doing wrong and could be doing better. I will also provide you with photos.

Firstly my red-footed tortoise lives in a wooden cage indoors. I have a humidity gauge inside the enclosure. I recently read some discussions on this site and it sounds like the one I have is a cheap one so I will be upgrading. I also have a little food bowl with a couple of fake plants. There is also a water bowl that is used for drinking and bathing (i place her into the water bowl daily). When I put Tamale in the water bowl she immediately starts to drink it. Also when she bathes I make sure the filtered water is warm for her. I change it daily.

The cage is basically split into thirds. Two-thirds of the cage is open and allows light to shine in where the water, food, and plants are. The other one-third is the cooler, dark room. It is drier in there without a humidity gauge on that side. I do plan on getting one for that side as well soon. She sleeps under a Petco purchased fake rock/cave on that side. That’s all there is on this dark side of the wood cage.