Baby deserts

Status
Not open for further replies.

erinnco22

5 Year Member
Kind of silly, but I'm new with these wonderful tortoises, so i ask you to bear with me...
My baby sonorans ALWAYS cuddle and sleep in their food dish..they eat well, then it seems their greens end up covered in urine by their early afternoon nap. Is this common to want to sleep in the food?

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
So Cal
It may be that the dish is warming up under the lights and they like to sleep on it because it's warm. What area of the enclosure do you have the feeding dish?

leonardo the tmnt

5 Year Member
kimber_lee_314 said:
It may be that the dish is warming up under the lights and they like to sleep on it because it's warm. What area of the enclosure do you have the feeding dish?

Yeah that's what I was thinking

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Do you have a humid hide for them? They might be trying to dig in to the remaining food for the humid microclimate it offers.

erinnco22

5 Year Member
That's what went through my mind, too. I had the feeding dish on the warm side to begin with. Then I moved it in the middle in between the temps and they still seem to want to squeeze in the dish together. I have a hide on the cooler side, but I'm not sure what a humid hide is! They don't go to that side much. Should I put their hide on the warm side and their food dish on the cooler?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread-18736.html?highlight=Humid+Hide+Boxes+II

Here is an example of some. Lately I have been using black $2 dish washing tubs from Walmart. Just cut out a door hole flip it upside down and wet the substrate under it.

All tortoises should have this. Especially babies. It simulates the humidity that would be found in a burrow or cubby hole that they would use for shelter in the wild.

erinnco22

5 Year Member