Bath time every day and pooping...

N

no one

So I came in contact with another Tortoise keeper and of course we talked about how we keep our Tortoises.
And about Humidity and Pyramiding and such... I told him I give my Tortoises a bath every day for 30 or 40 minutes or so. And he said I should not do that, because they will poop out all there nutritions every time way to fast. Can you guys give me some insight, if what he says is true or not?
I always thought poop is just waste after you get all the good stuff out of your food. Sorry biology class has been way to long ago for me... Feel a bit stupid right know!!

@Markw84
@Tom
@Will

And all the others... Thank you!!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
This is another of those ridiculous tortoise myths from the past. Whats my proof you might ask?

I've been soaking babies daily for 10 years now. Since January of 2008. There have been literally hundreds of sulcatas, over 100 leopards, 24 russians, 5 radiata, 14 platynota, and dozens of CDTs. 100% survival rate, and all of them 100% thriving. All of my current breeding groups of sulcatas, SA leopards and platynota were all soaked daily from the day I got them as hatchlings, or from the day I hatched them myself. Now I'm soaking their babies daily.

If daily soaking makes them poop out all their nutrients, why do all of mine thrive and grow better than tortoises that are soaked less often? Because its false. That's why. Nothing but an old myth founded on someone's incorrect guesses.

N

no one

Thank you Tom!! I thought so, but wanted to ask. I am still worried after loosing Sterretje.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Thank you Tom!! I thought so, but wanted to ask. I am still worried after loosing Sterretje.
You are welcome.