Becoming a torty lover

derangedplanet

Hello, I am new to owning a tortoise but have owned many various animals both exotic and not my whole life. I recently had a miscarriage, and all things considered I thought maybe now was finally the time to get myself a sulcata. I have found this site especially helpful in learning how my tortoise should live. I live in SC. I've found that there are some differing opinions on how to keep a sulcata. For example while trying to be certain about what temp to make his basking area(he's two months) i found some people say not to go over 90, others say between 100 and 110...is this mostly up to interpretation or is one of those pieces of advice better than the other? my darlings is named tortilla. I keep tortilla in a tub that is 3'x1.75'x8" tall. I know there is speculation about how we should give them a lot of space. but watching him run around at this size I cant see him doing okay with his stuff more spread out. I am planting some grass seeds for him today as well as dandelion among a few others because our yard is cared for for us and I doubt the grass is safe. I currently feed him mostly mixed greens and spring mix. But plan to start introducing him to grass as soon as possible. He has both a heating lamp and uvb lamp inside, both are on one side of his tank so he can bask when needs but doesnt always have to. I currently keep the basking temp at 102 about. He climbs into his water dish regularly and enjoys his hide. I take his entire enclosure outside and leave it in the sun when it is warmer outside(80 or so) and he is much more active when outside than in. My only questions are:
The best basking temp, there seems to be a difference in opinion on it
How often he should be soaked? some say no more than 3 a week, others say up to 2 times a day
Why is he so much more active in the same tank outside compared to in? is it the humidity?