Beginnings of outdoor enclosure

singapura78

Hi all - I am new to tortoises….as a matter of fact, I don't even have one yet! I live outside of Sacramento, CA and am hoping to get a few Russian torts soon. In the meantime, I am making the first outdoor enclosure for whenever my new RT does arrive. Can you take a look and tell me what you think? There is a layer of bricks under the substrate so they can't dig out. Then I have 8-10" of topsoil mixed with coconut coir and cypress mulch. Unfortunately, I ran out of mulch and coir and have to get some more and mix it in. So it is a bit lacking in that department. I built a little "burrow" too. There is a water dish which is fed by my irrigation system, and a feeding "table." OK - so what else can I do to ensure that my torts will be happy little girls? I want to make this one perfect before moving on and building another. So any advice is GREATLY appreciated. I feel like i t needs more enrichment items in it…….

Attachments

• 10705199_10203758393574868_1784196725_n.jpg
    10705199_10203758393574868_1784196725_n.jpg
    111.9 KB · Views: 50

lismar79

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio USA
Cap all of your corners. Russians can climb anything. I watched mine scale a straight cinder block! Put a lip over all edges. They can only climb straight up so the lip will stop them from getting out. You are also going to want a few sight barriers. Russians are real aggresive and do not like each other so you will have to work to make many areas inside the enclosure so there won't be a turf war.

singapura78