box turtle hatchling not eating, injury to face

Status
Not open for further replies.

reagansymone

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Florida
Hello!
I've browsed these forums a bunch but am a new member, and this is my first time posting.
I have a Florida box turtle (Beans), and she apparently laid eggs without me knowing! Eight days ago two little babies (Popeye and Pinto Bean) emerged from the ground. One of them is happy and healthy as can be, eating anything wiggly AND fruit!

The other, Popeye, received an injury before I found him -- a possible bite from healthy brother, although we are unsure of the cause. The left side of his face was injured, resulting in the loss of use of his eyeball (the eye is still in there, he just can't open it because his face got pretty messed up), and a bit of torn up skin. I took him to the wildlife hospital locally and he is all cleaned up and healing pretty well, but he still isn't eating. This is where I need help!
I've read in some places that it's normal for an animal with a traumatic injury to not eat. He HAS been drinking, and he has pooped 4 times (but not since Sunday)...I'm supposing that this could be either from his yolk sac, or he could have eaten something while he was in mama's enclosure before I found him.
Anyway, it has been 8 days and he isn't eating anything. Not even interested as far as I can tell.
I've tried red wigglers, mini meal worms, phoenix worms, wax worms, butter worms, pinhead crickets...I've ordered roly polys/pill bugs and they're on their way. I've tried black berries, strawberries, blueberries, hibiscus flower, kale, and romaine for not wiggly foods. And also turtle food sticks soaked in water. I've tried feeding while he is soaking and while he is not soaking. I've tried smashing up food with water and trying to feed him with a medicine dropper. I don't really know what else to do other than wait and hope he eats.

Any suggestions? I'm really worried about my little guy.