Desert Tortoise Enclosure Construction Project

Shamus Leary

Location (City and/or State)
Central Valley California
Greetings everyone. Thought I would share the construction of an enclosure im building for my desert tortoise. Let me start by saying that I am no professional and anything you see me do may not be the best way or even the correct way to do this so please do your own research and practice proper safety and construction methods. It will be 16 feet long and 7 feet wide. I have plenty of critters where I live so I will be overbuilding this enclosure to keep out unwanted visitors. Just started this past weekend and I will update the pictures as I make progress. I am considering using a "Dogloo" as a burrow and partially burying it, making the entrance underground. The inside of the enclosure will include a small pond, a rock area, grass area, a borrow and a dirt area. Any suggestions or comments are appreciated.

Materials include: 16x8x6 Masonry Blocks, 12x12 paver stones, Concrete, mortar, grout, corrugated pipe, fasteners, pvc pipe, fence posts and 4' field fence.

Will be looking to plant some small plants, bushes and grasses and have the small pond with a waterfall..

IMG_0110.JPG IMG_0112.JPG IMG_0113.JPG IMG_0119.JPG IMG_0133.JPG IMG_0136.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
BTW... Cant believe I spelled the title wrong.. Tortoise not tortise..wow
A very warm welcome to the forum! :tort:

That seems interesting. Look forward to seeing it when it's ready for a LUCKY tort. :D

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Orange County, So Cal
Looking good and looking forward to seeing it develop into a lovely habitat for your care! Fun!

And, yes! Welcome to the forum, lotsa kind and knowing people here to help us with our tortoises, and turtles. And life. Yay!

orv

5 Year Member
Aguanga, CA