Desert tortoise or Sulcata???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Changminator

5 Year Member
Hello all. This is my first time on this forum and I am glad to see so many loving tortoise owners with such good advices.

Anyways, I have received two tortoises from my friend who can no longer care for them. He told me that they are desert tortoises but after comparing them to some pictures, I feel that they look like Sulcatas as well. What do you guys think?

Also, these tortoises are 3-4 years old. Aren't they supposed to be bigger??

Thank you guys. :tort:

tortoises 2.JPG

tortoises.JPG

Turtle1.JPG

Turtle 2.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Las Vegas, NV
Hello and welcome to the forum...

I do believe that you have two desert tortoises and not sulcatas..

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Desert tortoise, and welcome to the forum, I hope you enjoy your visits here.

Changminator

5 Year Member
Awesome. thank you guys.
So...do they look a little small to you guys? I'm just a bit concerned because they're about 3-4 years old and yet I feel they're a bit small. Is this something I should worry about?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and WELCOME:D. I would have thought sulcata too, but when I joined this forum almost a year ago, I have been able to recognize the different species, well some. Enjoy

Changminator

5 Year Member
Thank you guys!
So...do you think these torts are a bit too small? i'm just a bit concerned because they're about 3-4 years old. not sure if i should be worried about them.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi changminator:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

No, their size is perfectly fine for desert tortoises of that age. What are your plans for setting them up in a habitat? I'd like to see them be outside, if at all possible.

What would you like us to call you?