Hello from the hot Arizona desert

Leddagger16

Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
Hi all. I am new to the world of tortoises and tortoise care but I am learning more each day. I found this forum while researching information about tortoises and it has already helped so much. I received 2 desert tortoises from a family member the other day that were babies from her tortoises. They are about 1 year old.

I did have one question that I couldn't seem to find an answer to. I have their enclosure under a sissoo tree right now and I wanted to know if the leaves of the sissoo trees are poisonous to desert tortoises?

IMG_0292[1].JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome. I don't have an answer for your tree question, but wanted to share some DT info anyway. Most of the websites out there recommend starting these guys WAYYYYYYY too dry. A large percentage of them die because of this and many of the ones that manage to survive a few years end up dying from kidney stones or other dehydration related ailments.

I wrote this thread for russians, but I've started dozens of DT babies using the exact same methods and they all thrive. Hope these help:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread...or-other-herbivorous-tortoise-species.107734/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Something like this is essential for your area:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/semi-underground-russian-box.98590/
There are many ways to accomplish it, but they need to get underground during the heat of our summer days.

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Hello there and a very warm welcome to Tortoise Forum to you and your tortoises.
I'm afraid I don't know about the sissoo either.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!