Desert Tortoise - Substrate Humidity

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reptile_Rapunzel

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
12.jpg10.jpg Hi there I am new to tortoises and new to the forum, I would greatly appreciate comments and information on my desert tortoise’s substrate (Bark, coir, soil) in an outdoor enclosure with in a hide. I have an XL igloo dog house (40"x40"x30.5"H) for one of two hides within the outdoor enclosure; the other is a buried pot at the opposite end of the enclosure. The current substrate; I am temporarily using is a bit of orchard grass hay, the rest of the bale I donated to my local horse/donkey rescue. So now that I got rid of the hay I now am going to use fine orchid bark (fir bark) and coco coir maybe with some native soil. The fact that he is a “Desert” tortoise makes me think he doesn’t need too much humidity, and I know wild tortoises urinate and defecate in there hides which makes the hide moist. Are these ideal substrates for this type of outdoor enclosure? Should I use a mix of substrates or a single substrate? (Bark, coir, soil) if a mix what ratio? How moist should I keep the substrate? What should my hygrometer read in the dog house hide? What is the appropriate humidity/temperature inside the hide? (I am also open to switch the hide to a Rubbermaid deck box if that would be more ideal) Thanks so much in advance and I look forward to the knowledge and discussions Sincerely, New tortoise advocate

Last edited by a moderator:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
For living outdoors, most people just use whatever dirt is already there. If your tortoise is an adult, you really don't need to worry about humidity. The best thing for them is a burrow to hang out in. "Natural" burrows can sometimes be risky, but you can make your own pretty easily.

reticguy76

5 Year Member