Digestion problem?

zenoandthetortoise

5 Year Member
Back to the OP:

I have no experience with the symptomolgy or species. However, all the general toxicological information I can find would not indicate calcium supplementation as a probable causal agent.

mitchellr

5 Year Member
My radiated not pooping again today. I also found a bubbly mucous-like stains on the coco coir. I feed him okra this week, okra is very slimy. Would it be possible that it's just residue of the okra's slimes?

Please tell me if i sound stupid as for now im just thinking back of any possibilities. I dont live in the capital city and reptilians vet here isnt really capable to diagnose and do proper examinations like your doctors in west countries.

I havent gave him any medication since he still has a very good appetite for the time being and doesnt show any behavior difference. Btw his weight is 630grams, up 10grams from last week.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Kingman, Arizona
The exam for parasites is the same for mammals. The medication type and amount for tortoises is the part that is different. I would think a local veterinarian can check for the internal parasites and then make a phone call to the experienced veterinarians in the capital. Hope this helps. Do not ever feel that asking questions makes you stupid. It is the person that does not want to know the correct information stupid. None of us can speak to tortoises, so we need to ask friends here for help. It is the correct thing to do.

mitchellr

5 Year Member
Some pictures of Okra and mucous-like substance i found on his cage.

Thanks for everyone's help here. I hope this can also give valuable info for any other radiated tortoise keepers.

Attachments

• photo(2).JPG
    photo(2).JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 40
  • index.jpg
    index.jpg
    5 KB · Views: 31

zenoandthetortoise

5 Year Member
mitchellr said:
Some pictures of Okra and mucous-like substance i found on his cage.