Do you think this sulcata is a male or female?

Status
Not open for further replies.

2tortoises

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I got this tortoise from someone who rescues. It measures 10 1/4" and is 7lbs. We think she is a female....but we are unsure. Her age has been estimated to be over 3 yrs?
Just wanting your opinion. I have another male that is 13 1/4" and he is mounting this sulcata and trying to mate. But no fighting whatsover..so that makes me think she may be a female?
I appreciate any input.
Thanks.

Attachments

• DSC00734.JPG
    DSC00734.JPG
    93.7 KB · Views: 246
  • DSC00738.JPG
    DSC00738.JPG
    79.6 KB · Views: 210
  • DSC00733.JPG
    DSC00733.JPG
    86.4 KB · Views: 156
  • DSC00737.JPG
    DSC00737.JPG
    75.4 KB · Views: 150

jlyoncc1

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
NJ
Looks female to me but I am not an expert. I am sure some other people will chime in! Welcome!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
There's always someone in the group who has to disagree! And today I'm that someone. At 7lbs, your little sulcata is too young to be able to sex. As they get bigger young males will be so proud of their "stuff" that they will flash at you. Quite easy to tell males when they get to be about 12 to 15lbs. Females are harder to tell.

I had an 80lbs female and a bigger male that were given to me from a gal in Bakersfield who couldn't keep them anymore. The female laid eggs and the male flashed, so I was positive of the sex of both. The anal scutes on the female were in the shape of a "U" and her tail was short and stubby. The anal scutes on the male were in the shape of a "V" and his tail was broader and longer.