Eating habits

Cheryl Hills

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Youngstown, Ohio
my Russan tortoise, Rosie, loves to eat. I feed her every morning and again in the evening. Every time she hears or sees me now, she comes out, looking for food I think. I give her a big handful in the am and again in the pm. Should I feed her more when she comes out and looks at me? I don't want to overdue it. The handful is about the size of her!

M

Maggie Cummings

I do exactly the same thing...why do you think we are called the "food goddesses" by the tortoises?????

W Shaw

I'm still new to having a tortoise. Only have one little rescue, and only had him since October. He's a russian. I don't know how old he is, but he's about 5 inches long. When I got him, he was on the verge of starvation because his meals were being limited. I think if your tortoise eats it all, she's hungry. Mine gets a dessert sized plate piled high at breakfast, including some calorie dense stuff. I also hand feed him at breakfast if I'm around. When I get off work I remove any wilted leftovers (normally there isn't much left over), and replace it with another fresh plateful. If he's eaten most of that by bedtime, he gets another, smaller snack in case he gets hungry at night or gets up before I do. He has fresh food available at all times. I would not limit your tortoise's meals unless your vet says she's overweight. If she's hungry, feed her.

Cheryl Hills

5 Year Member
Youngstown, Ohio
Thanks, that is what I am doing. Just wanted to make sure. These are the first tortoises I have owned, ah housed. Don't feel as if we own them but are their caretakers. They are a part of my family anyway. Mother Nature owns them. They are so cute, l just love all of them. I want to make sure I do everything right.

W Shaw