Eating Moss

Status
Not open for further replies.

7oasty23

5 Year Member
My russian ate a bunch of his spaghum moss the other day I'm assuming. When I soaked him he passed a good chunk of it, not digested at all. Is this a serious problem? He hasn't eaten in a few days, but I also moved him to a new enclosure, and just got his temps right tonight.

7oasty23

5 Year Member
Anybody, the nearest vet is like an hour away, and I'll have to skip work tomorrow, but I'll bring him if needed.

theelectraco

5 Year Member
I would give him another nice soak and see if he passes more. He may not be eating from the cage change. Also make sure there is no more moss for him to eat again. Personally I don't think a vet is necessary just yet.

0.0.1 Red Foot
0.0.1 Crested Gecko
0.1.0 Dachshund

LolaMyLove

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Walnut Creek, Ca
I'm not an expert but I think it's ok. Keep giving him regular soaks and make sure all the temps are right for him and watch him for a few days, at least that is what I would do.

Also my RT eats his Timothy hay and passes it undigested a lot, it's normal.

Sent from my iPhone using TortoiseForum mobile app

7oasty23

5 Year Member
theelectraco said:
I would give him another nice soak and see if he passes more. He may not be eating from the cage change. Also make sure there is no more moss for him to eat again. Personally I don't think a vet is necessary just yet.

0.0.1 Red Foot
0.0.1 Crested Gecko
0.1.0 Dachshund

I already removed it, but I'm worried because I don't know how much he ate. He seemed to have a really hard time pushing it out.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona