First time posting here, question about greek tort

Status
Not open for further replies.

stever254

5 Year Member
hello,

My name is Steve and this is my first time posting here but I have been reading for a while. I have a greek tortoise named Pablo that has been with me for about 3 years. He has turned out to be a great pet and everyone that meets him for the first time cant believe how friendly a tortoise can be. So thats my back story.
What I want to find out your opinion on is how would my buddy take to me adding another tort to the heard. He seems happy now but would he be better off having a friend? If so should it be another adult? or a hatchling? should I get another male? More than likely I would get another greek or golden greek maybe. I dont know if I just lucked out or if they are all this friendly and outgoing. If I could not find another greek I have always admired the looks of leopard torts.

thank you,
Steve
So please let me know what you think, particularly those with first hand experience that own 2 or more greeks.

Meg90

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
WI
No, a cagemate is not a good idea....Tortoises are solitary animals. They only meet in the wild for breeding, or fighting purposes. Plus, adding another tort means doubling, or tripling the size of your enclosure, which isn't always easy considering the space requirements.

Also, putting a Hatchling in with an adult is not the greatest idea. They are too small and fragile, and adults don't recognize them as "babies" only as a (minor) threat to their food and territory.

From my own experience, Greek Torts are very sweet. My own (Nigel) is an awesome tort. He responds to my voice, and is pretty social.

Anyways, welcome to the forums. Its a very informative place.