First timer. Was not trying to breed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meesh

Location (City and/or State)
BRUNSWICK
Hi! I haven't gotten any help on here with my last few posts so im hoping this one is different. If not, I give up on this site.

I have a large female Hermanns tort (Gemma). There has been a few instances where one of my males has broken into her enclosure & visa versa. About 2 weeks ago I went to clean her enclosure & found she had laid 4 eggs. Based on the fact she has had a few unplanned "dates" with one of my males, there is a strong possibility of baby torts. I'm guessing they were laid a couple days before I found them.
I have never tried to breed so im new to this.
The eggs have chalked. I bought a large vevor incubator for them and set it to 31C.
I candled the eggs last night & 3 of them have a dark spot at the bottom and 1 is still completely clear so im assuming maybe 3 out of 4 are fertile. Im keeping the 4th in there just in case to see. I cannot bring myself to get rid of any eggs especially being so uneducated on them.
Figuring out if their fertile has been an emotional rollercoaster lol one day im excited and convinced they are an the next ill read something else that gives me doubt.

Can an unfertilized egg have a yolk sac? 3 have one and 1 is clear .. I can take pics I just try not to disturb them as much as possible. There is no veins but was told 2 weeks is too soon for that..

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
Hopefully an expert will be able to help you soon. Good luck

Ibdeni

Yuba city
Hi! I haven't gotten any help on here with my last few posts so im hoping this one is different. If not, I give up on this site.