Greek Care Sheet

crimson_lotus

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Massachusetts
I don't have a Greek or anything, I was just curious.

http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/greek-tortoise-testudo-graeca-care-sheet-overview.87146/

The care sheet on this forum states that the best substrates to use include wood shavings, topsoil mixed with play sand, and it even states that rabbit pellets are okay to use.

I found this as extremely conflicting information. Sand can cause impaction, shavings (although it is stated in the care sheet) are terrible at holding humidity, and the rabbit pellets also do not hold humidity in and they mold.

Again, I am not an expert on Greeks but I thought these substrates were generally frowned upon. What are your thoughts on this?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Almost every care sheet out in the world for any species is wrong.

Those substrates are the most commonly used ones from the old days of tortoise keeping. Either that care sheet is old, or the person who wrote it is using old info from someone else's old care sheet.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
The care sheet was written by one of our members, @HermanniChris. I don't think it needs to be updated. He suggest a MIXTURE of EITHER top soil and play sand OR cypress mulch and aspen wood shavings. He also adds that the shavings are very drying so you'll need to soak the tortoise more often. He is merely giving the tortoise-keeper more options to choose from.

Chris raises Greek tortoises, and he knows his stuff.

HermanniChris

TFO Sponsor
10 Year Member!
Thanks Yvonne.

I'm going to sum this up real quick because I am dealing with a death in my family at the moment. Not trying to be a downer, just stating the facts because I am usually more in depth when it comes to my responses.