greeks or hermanns or russian?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jobeanator

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
northern new york
hey im new to this site.. my names joby and im a hardcore tortoise hobbyist. i have redfoots... sulcatas.. and i plan on getting one other species.. ive read and researched so much about greeks and hermanns and russians.. and i honestly dont know which would be the best breed for me to get. could i have some like pros and cons of people than own these breeds of tortoises? also besides kingsnake as a way of getting tortoises.. is there anyone on here that breeds the tortoises i mention? let me know...![/font]

S

stells

I have a soft spot for the greeks although i do keep all 3 species you have mentioned :)
Danny (egyptiandan) has some lovely Turkish greeks for sale on page 2 of the for sale section ;)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Jobenator: There are folks here on the forum who breed and raise babies from all three of those types of tortoise. Welcome to the forum, and good luck in your quest.

Yvonne

chelonologist

10 Year Member!
Redlands, California
Of the three species you've mentioned, I've only kept Hermann's. They are incredibly personable creatures, and highly recommended. The same may be true for Russians and Greeks. Your best bet is to get an animal that's captive bred rather than wild caught.

jobeanator

10 Year Member!
northern new york
yeah ive always heard hermanns are good pets... anyone on here selling baby hermanns or greeks?

jobeanator

10 Year Member!
northern new york
ohh nice im very interested! well since you breed them which breed do you prefer? i kinda want them both ....

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
I like both of them :D I just have more greeks than hermanns. :p
The only real difference is size, with the hermanns staying smaller than the greeks.

Danny

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA