Help with ID tortoise

JoanaOD

Location (City and/or State)
Lewes
Hi,
Please please can someone really kind help me identifying a tortoise that was found in the south of England. I’m a vet and I have no clue about tortoises. It’s not eating and I don’t really think it’s very healthy!74776209-8168-4CA2-A4BA-0651CC2BA7C7.jpeg61103DAD-29DF-4608-B0F0-B797688627A4.jpeg6A8C9436-245F-4418-B4F7-5958FAFB2478.jpeg65705B84-C0E2-4E5B-96C5-472585CD584D.jpeg6CB6806E-28AA-4640-B549-F4328C64B47E.jpeg

Randy Micheals

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
British columbia
The 'spurs' on the back of the thighs in the last picture indicate that this is a Greek tortoise, possibly an Iberian as the head is quite dark. Keep her warm (warmer than it is outside in South England right now), provide a basking light, and give daily warm soaks, all will help stimulate appetite and contribute to improving her health.

Being a vet I would imagine you are doing your research, but here are these to help. Each contains good info re your tortoise. Come back with questions if you want. Good luck and welcome.

OkAdiza

Tortoise Club
Virginia
Hello, it looks like a Greek to me. They have those spurs on the backside. I’m sure someone more knowledgeable than me can ID it for you though.

JoanaOD

Lewes
I’ve got nothing except a soft crate. Where is the best place/book to read about them?

OkAdiza

Tortoise Club
Virginia
I’ve got nothing except a soft crate. Where is the best place/book to read about them?
Definitely check out the links RandyMichaels posted above. Those should be very helpful.

JoanaOD

Lewes
Ah! Didn’t see those, thought they were adverts! I’ll go and check those right now! Thanks so much! I hope I can save the little thing! Any idea how I can tell gender?

Randy Micheals

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
British columbia

You will need more space, as that is a full grown adult, check the guides but 8x4 is minimum.