Help with tortoise species and age (and any advice)

glasseyedcat

Location (City and/or State)
Wisconsin
Hi, I'm pretty new to tortoise care and I had a few questions concerning my tortoise. As winter is approaching I know hibernation is a natural and healthy cycle for your tortoise but it isn't recommended for a tortoise younger than 3-5 and also depends on the species of tortoise.
I was hoping someone would be able to help me figure out her species (I think she might be a russian tortoise? But I want to be corrected if I'm worng). And is there anyway to know her age exactly, or would I need to visit the vet to find that out?
(I'm sorry I don't know very much about her, she's actually my little brother's tortoise but he doesn't care for her so I do.)

Attachments

• 20230829_105712.jpg
    20230829_105712.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 3

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Full grown Russian tortoise. Can't tell you the gender until we can see the tail.

SinLA

Tortoise Club
Los Angeles
Here is a great place to start:

how big is she? Its not really easy to tell how old they are once they are adults

Can you show pictures underside of his/her tail?

glasseyedcat

Wisconsin
Full grown Russian tortoise. Can't tell you the gender until we can see the tail.
I do know she is a girl because the pet store displayed the gender of the tortoises they had. Are there any tips I should keep in mind in taking care of her? I've noticed she's been getting slower lately and not eating as much, is that normal around September?

SinLA

Tortoise Club
Los Angeles
I do know she is a girl because the pet store displayed the gender of the tortoises they had. Are there any tips I should keep in mind in taking care of her? I've noticed she's been getting slower lately and not eating as much, is that normal around September?