hermanns - is heating needed indoors in winter

alocin7

Location (City and/or State)
New Zealand
Right. Im new to 1.tortoises and 2.forums... so bear with me here. I live in New Zealand and have just got a 1 year old Hermanns Tortoise. The breeder I got it from is helpful and knowledgeable, but Im just looking to get information from more sources. New Zealand is not particularly cold, and I have been told from 3 years on tortoises can be kept outside all year round here. Until then, however, they need to be inside in the coldest part of winter (approx 3 months). I know I need a UV lamp inside, my question is, do I need a heat lamp over winter?? Our house is pretty warm in winter (approx 24degrees celcius), and I figured if a tortoise was in the wild, it would be colder for them in winter anyway, thats normal. So would using a heat lamp that would essentially create a fake summer in winter be advisable??

Rue

Canada
Congrats! I am new to tortoises too...I have had my Hermann's for an entire month now! She is 4 months old.

Night time temps should be around 18 C /65 F. They should have a daytime temp. spot of around 27 /80 F - so they can digest their food properly.

Normally they would brumate during the coldest part of the winter. But they don't have to. And it might not be advisable with babies kept in captivity regardless.

I plan to overwinter mine for 1-2 years...and then brumate her. If you are going to keep them in the house for the winter, you need to provide 'summer' conditions and I have mine also on a 12-hour light cycle. And yes...you will need a UVB lamp. You can buy an all-in-one UVB and heat light bulb (mercury vapour).

alocin7

New Zealand