Herpstat 2 performance

Sterant

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Albany, NY
Just posting some interesting data. I have been using Hovabator incubators for 25 years and never used an external thermostat. Recently, after adding a very accurate WiFi temp/humidity sensor to one of the incubators, I saw just how variable the temperature is inside.

So, I tried a Herpstat 2 controller and the results are pretty impressive. Here is a graph of the temperature variations before and after the Herpstat 2.

The dotted line is 86 degrees F. The Herpstat 2 varies from 86.1 after a heat cycle to 85.7 just before a heat cycle. So, a total swing of 0.4 F.

Enjoy -

Dan

upload_2017-10-10_11-12-55.png

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
Dan

I have long been a user of proportional thermostats for incubators. Once you actually use an accurate data sensor to track temps over time, it is amazing how much temps swing with an on/off. I think this illustrates one of the reasons we see such inaccuracy in TSD claims. As we get better equipment, I think we will see much more reliable results.

I assume your graph is over a few months? The herpstat part showing a month's results here? The way it looks we must be seeing daily swings in temp as your room ambient changes, each peak probably around 6PM daily?

What data sensor are you using? I use SensorPush. With humidity that stays over 90% for extended periods I start to see inaccuracy in humidity readings as the sensor seems to take on too much moisture. Have you had that issue?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Fantastic info Dan. I'm surprised that the Hovabator showed so much variation. I realized there was some temperature fluctuation, but I didn't realize just how much.