Hi!!

ShelbysMom

Location (City and/or State)
LAS VEGAS
I'm very new to the tortoise world. I have my baby sulcata and her name is Shelby. She's very nosey, but oh my gosh is she cute. I'm struggling with the light setup for her. I've seen the pictures of pyramiding and I'm scared of doing this to her. So, I bought a che and plan on ditching the red light. I am really confused about the uvb/basking light....... What exactly am I looking for? There's bad lights that hurt them, what are those ones? I see some with misters, do I need that? The more I read, the more confused I get. So any and all help is welcomed.
Oh and we're in Vegas.

Attachments

• received_4042490392512308.jpeg
    received_4042490392512308.jpeg
    87.8 KB · Views: 16
  • 00101_it9zmJcjWaZz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    00101_it9zmJcjWaZz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    50.2 KB · Views: 17

G-stars

5 Year Member
Southern California
Hell and welcome.

It can all seem a bit overwhelming at first with lots of information all over the place which may contradict itself. You should really read this care sheet. Tom did a great job of writing it, so many people on here house their tortoises in a similar way. Please take the time to read the care sheet, as it well answer most if not all your questions.

Jan A

Boulder, CO
I'm very new to the tortoise world. I have my baby sulcata and her name is Shelby. She's very nosey, but oh my gosh is she cute. I'm struggling with the light setup for her. I've seen the pictures of pyramiding and I'm scared of doing this to her. So, I bought a che and plan on ditching the red light. I am really confused about the uvb/basking light....... What exactly am I looking for? There's bad lights that hurt them, what are those ones? I see some with misters, do I need that? The more I read, the more confused I get. So any and all help is welcomed.
Oh and we're in Vegas.
Shelby is quite the gorgeous girl. Welcome to the forum!!

ShelbysMom

LAS VEGAS
Hell and welcome.