Hibernation for Hermans

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikeluxy

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hi Everyone

I have a large Hermans Tortoise which up untill now has been looked after by my elderly Parents.

This is my first year of looking after the Tortoise.

My Tort is approx 40 years old and has been in Hibernation since late October/November last.

Dad has used the same method for Hibernation for him for the past 35 odd years and its always worked fine.

He has been kept in the same wooden Box for Hibernation each winter over the past few Decades (!) in a cool outbuilding.

I did a quick check on him yesterday (The Tortoise!!) and felt resistance when I pushed against his leg in his Hibernation Box :)

My question is Do you think it is still too early to wake him up ...?...I was thinking of perhaps Bringing his Box into our warm Conservatory so he could come out in his own time.

Any help/suggestions much appreciated

My Location is in the Southern part of the UK and we are still having quite cold weather here....

Thanks

Mike

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
USA
Hi Mike,
It would be just fine to wake him up now. You will though need to set him up in an enclosure inside the house or conservatory until it warms up outside.

Danny

mikeluxy

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
egyptiandan said:
Hi Mike,
It would be just fine to wake him up now. You will though need to set him up in an enclosure inside the house or conservatory until it warms up outside.

Danny

Thanks for the info Danny

Can you just give me a little more info as to the procedure I should use for this....Im very green on all this!!..I have just been out to check on him and sure enough his leg moved again when I pressed it (as if in annoyance )

Shall I just bring his box into our warm living room and wait for him to come out himself or should I physically remove him and place him under a heat lamp.