how does your tort get calcium?

Status
Not open for further replies.

preston897

5 Year Member
im planning on getting a sulcata within the next few months. right now i am learning about the diet. i know alot of people use cuttlebones. but i have heard alot of stories of peoples torts not eating them. i am wanting to feed mazuri twice a week. i will also dust it. if he is not eating his cuttlebone. would twice a week be enough calcium? how do you guys make sure you tort gets all the calcium he needs? im new to torts im used to lizards. i just have to dust the insects. its simple.

DeanS

SULCATA OASIS
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
SoCal
cactus is an excellent source of calcium too...:)

M

Maggie Cummings

The thinking is that the tort will eat the cuttlebone when his instinct tells him he needs calcium. I have seen mine leave the cuttlebone alone for months, then it's gone in a day. I also dust all my tortoises' food everyday lightly with powdered calcium w/D3...

tortoisenerd

5 Year Member
Washington
How old of a tort? I believe in pure calcium powder sprinkling daily for hatchlings and yearlings, every other day once they are 3 or so, and then 3-4 times a week as adults. You really can't overdo the pure calcium too easily (unlike D3 which is fat soluble instead of water soluble). I also offer a cuttlebone.

preston897

5 Year Member
so cactus cuttlebone and daily dusting is good for a tort up to a few years old...i was also wanting to take a bottom of a pot and plant bremuda in it to keep inside the cage. what do you guys think about keeping that in his cage at all times to graze?

TortoisesRock!

5 Year Member
My Russian avoids his cuttlebone, I sprinkle calcium on his food, but he usually avoids that too!

chadk

10 Year Member!
Depending on what you are able to feed him and the region you live in, you may be able to provide the calcium needed just by the normal diet of healthy greens and grasses. Leave cuttlebone around just in case.