1. Welcome! Are you interested in tortoises? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our community is the #1 place for tortoise keepers to talk online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your tortoise and enclosure, and discuss any tortoise topic with other tortoise keepers. Get started today!

How To Build A Temperature Controller for less than $20

Discussion in 'Tortoise Enclosures' started by Markw84, Mar 21, 2016.

  1. Cheryl Hills

    Cheryl Hills Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Youngstown, Ohio
    Is there any way of hooking up two probes to this?
  2. Markw84

    Markw84 Well-Known Member 5 Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    3,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
    No. It only reads one probe.
  3. Cheryl Hills

    Cheryl Hills Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Youngstown, Ohio
    Ok, I would be able to put it on 1 side of my enclosure to monitor temps there. Then my basking would be on the other side. Would that work.
  4. Markw84

    Markw84 Well-Known Member 5 Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    3,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
    I put the probe on my cool side and set it for 81°. Then I adjust wattage or height of the basking bulb for basking temp.
    Pearly likes this.
  5. Cheryl Hills

    Cheryl Hills Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Youngstown, Ohio
    Cool, that will work
    tinytortoise likes this.
  6. Cheryl Hills

    Cheryl Hills Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Youngstown, Ohio
    Can this unit be set for night temps and different day temps?
  7. Markw84

    Markw84 Well-Known Member 5 Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    3,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
    No. You would need two to do that There are more than expensive thermostats that have night drop but you could use two of these for less money. You would need another CHE for the second thermostat and set up one set at your night temp min. Then set up the other for your day temp min - but have it on a timer set for your “ day” period.

    I find in my enclosures, when the lights go on in daytime the temps in the enclosure rise about 8-10 degrees and the CHE never goes on. So I essentially have higher day temp and lower night temps.
  8. Cheryl Hills

    Cheryl Hills Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Youngstown, Ohio
  9. Cheryl Hills

    Cheryl Hills Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Youngstown, Ohio
    Well, I ordered two of these. I plan on building an incubator with one, out of a non working small frig. I also ordered the heat tape for that. The other one will go into one of my enclosures. Maybe next month I will order two more!
    BevSmith likes this.
  10. BevSmith

    BevSmith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    222
    Trophy Points:
    43
    How did it go?
  11. Cheryl Hills

    Cheryl Hills Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Youngstown, Ohio
    I have no made the incubator yet, but, I am using one in a hovabator. I don’t like the temp swings it allows. Goes on at it kicks off at 88, and then will not kick back on till 87 then goes to 90 before it kicks off. I will have to get a better one for the incubator
    BevSmith likes this.
  12. BevSmith

    BevSmith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    222
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Looks like I’m going to order one today but just for the little (almost 6 year-old) leopard I’ve just acquired. Definitely not anything as specific as what you’re looking for.
  13. Rover15

    Rover15 Active Member 5 Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location (City and/or State):
    ontario canada
    I just read this whole thread and love it.

    I'm going to try and google to see if I can find this thermostat and if it will ship to Canad, any chance you have a link to where you ordered it from?
    tinytortoise likes this.
  14. Markw84

    Markw84 Well-Known Member 5 Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    3,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location (City and/or State):
    Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
    I get them from Amazon.com. Just search for inkbird ITC-1000
    tinytortoise and Rover15 like this.
  15. Rover15

    Rover15 Active Member 5 Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location (City and/or State):
    ontario canada
    right on thank you, i was searching itc-100 lol i missed the extra 0 and i didn't know it was inkbird, found it now its sitting in my cart till payday lol
    tinytortoise likes this.
  16. taza

    taza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    329
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location (City and/or State):
    Cambridge, Ontario.Canada
    I just searched Amazon there is one that is 110v and a 12 v one for incubators etc. Is the 110volt one the one I want? Thanks Sandy
  17. NorCal tortoise guy

    NorCal tortoise guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location (City and/or State):
    Northern California
    Trying to wire this up and it keeps giving me an eror code and beeping loudly any idea what I could have got wrong?
  18. cpgfarms

    cpgfarms New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location (City and/or State):
    Pomona California
    Very good information. Only thing is I have never done something like this :oops:
  19. RSRoman3

    RSRoman3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location (City and/or State):
    El Paso TX
    Amazon has a 12v and 110v which one do I get?
  20. NorCal tortoise guy

    NorCal tortoise guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location (City and/or State):
    Northern California
Similar Threads: Build Temperature
Forum Title Date
Tortoise Enclosures What You'll Need to Build A Night Box Nov 24, 2018
Tortoise Enclosures Building a new enclosure!!! Oct 14, 2018
Tortoise Enclosures First build in progress! Oct 12, 2018
Tortoise Enclosures And This Is Why I Won't Build Closed Chambers From Wood Anymore... Aug 6, 2018
Tortoise Enclosures Build 1.0 :,D Jul 7, 2018

Share This Page