i don't know how to title (or "new here with sneezing baby")

Roiffalo

Location (City and/or State)
Pennsylvania
Greetings from mid-PA. I am Roi, and for about five months to the day have had a baby sulcata in my care. I've been raised with many animals including cats, dogs, sheep, rabbits, ducks, and geese, but this is my first time fully committing to a tortoise. With lots of help from various sources I like to think I'm off to a good start, but I worry a lot and doubt I'm doing all I can. Hence why I am here.

My first question; is it normal for them to make little sneezing noises?
This was cute at first, but they're starting to get a little too numerous. I suspect it might be from the sand in his enclosure.

DandR

Tortoise Club
Hawaii

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
an occasional sneeze here or there is not anything to worry about but if they are increasing there might be problems. What are the temperatures for him?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the forum!

The sneezing problem could very well be from sand. Sand is an irritant. There are other, better substrates you can use.

Roiffalo

Pennsylvania
Thanks for the replies, everyone! Apologies for my absence. I've been sick.

an occasional sneeze here or there is not anything to worry about but if they are increasing there might be problems. What are the temperatures for him?
32.9c currently. I don't know why the thermometer doesn't read Fahrenheit.
(S)he also has a heat rock that I acquired since making my first post. I dunno if the thermometer takes that into consideration too but I'd like to think it makes it a little warmer for him/her.