Id. this tortoise PLEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tats-N-Torts

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Roscoe, IL
We are having problems identifying and sexing our new tortoise, hopefully you experts can help us out. We were told it is a Russian, but not given an age. The tortoise is about 5 inches and very active.

Attachments

• 101_2778.JPG
    101_2778.JPG
    1 MB · Views: 144
  • 101_2780.JPG
    101_2780.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 151
  • 101_2781.JPG
    101_2781.JPG
    446.2 KB · Views: 127
  • 101_2782.JPG
    101_2782.JPG
    513.6 KB · Views: 123

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I'm not good at I.D.ing the Mediterranean species of tortoise, however, I'm guessing this one is a Hermann's tortoise. The tail pictures are blurry, but it looks like there may be a sore on the cloaca? I'm thinking that male tails are bigger and fatter than your tortoise's tail, so maybe a female.

Tats-N-Torts

5 Year Member
Roscoe, IL
thanks. i knew it was not a russian, and had a feeling it may be a hermamms, but was uncertain.

FLINTUS

5 Year Member
Watery Wiltshire in the UK
Definitely a female Hermann's. Not sure on subspecies, but definitely not testudo hermanni hercegovinensis, I am thinking it may be testudo hermanni hermanni

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State
FLINTUS said:
GBtortoises said:
It's a female Eastern Hermanns, Testudo hermanni boettgeri
Ok, wasn't sure. The markings definitely look THB but the darker colour made me think THH