Identifying baby box & shell issues

JessMARBie

So a couple days ago a lady comes into my work and tells me about this little turtle her dog brought in and she's been feeding cat food to. I told her I'd take him off her hands so now a baby box turtle has joined my Western Painted turtle and Hermann's tortoise (figuratively of course). I'm trying to figure out what species he is (I'm guessing he, reddish eyes). Also his shell is messed up and I'm not sure if it's MBD as someone else suggested, he also has slight wounds on his plastron, from the dog I'm guessing, that I'm treating with betadine and triple antibiotic. I've been giving him a liquid calcium supplement for the shell, is there anything else I can do? What would be the best to feed him? I got this dried mix of fruits,bugs,and meat from the store and I have meal worms I've been giving him, my store is out of red wigglers at the moment but I'm planning on getting them. I'm not experienced with box turtles but it seems like he has a hinge at the front and back, although he doesn't hide. He also only has three back toes but doesn't look like a three toed box from what I've seen. Also any way to guess an age? His name is Irwin Atlas btw.

Long story short: what species & what's up with his shell?20160704_165437.jpg20160703_143744.jpg20160704_165556.jpg
20160703_144438.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Calif.
It's def a box turtle and if I were to guess what kind a 3 toed box turtle. It's still a little to young to sex. As for its shell. Looks to be kept too dry. Can't tell might be fungus even. Or it can be for. Too wet and hard water. Its hard to tell. Does t look like mbd.

Kyle

lisa127

10 Year Member!
NE Ohio
I am in agreement with all of the above. Three toed box. And does not look to be mbd. Try soaking him in slightly warm water.

Berkeley