I'm a little guy

Nishikigoi's Torts.

Location (City and/or State)
Texas
image.jpg image.jpg Hello, I'm new to the tortoise world and find it very interesting (I would love any advise). With just buying my first sulcata a week ago you could say I'm still learning. I was wondering if anyone had any advise on a type of hide for a few nights I've been using a half log and just recently put a clay pot but, he isn't really interseted in either :(. Suggestions anyone? P.S. He's currently being kept indoors in a 20" x 20"x 36" heavy duty tub, and he's about 2" long.

lismar79

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
Put something in the clay pot for him to hid in. Like:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0010OXD9U/?tag=exoticpetnetw-20

Keep it warm and moist for him. These little ones are prey in the wild so the will spend a lot of time wanting to hide. Add a few plants would hlp too. Spider plants and hostas work good. Make sure they are not treated with any chems.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). The two hides you already have are what most of use start out with. If you read Toms threads below in my post for proper housing, temps and humidity you might need to make some adjustments and that may also make him want to go into his hide. Otherwise, you can place him in his hide every night until he gets the idea, or just let him sleep where he chooses.

Nishikigoi's Torts.

Texas
Ok thanks. Going shopping tomorrow for a larger heat lamp and uvb light. Should I get a low grade night time heat lamp to put over his hides? And I've bought three plants from lows a few days ago, so now I have them growing in a separate tub outside for them to get new growth just in case they had any chem. on them. Also his hides contain a water soaked orchid moss as a substrate. Also when I go sully shopping I'll look for a temp. and humidity reader.

image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Chantel

5 Year Member
Yuba City, CA