is this a good home?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rookie

5 Year Member
Hello,
I am new to tortoises and the tortoise world. I have been considering a tortoise for about two years or so. I worked at a zoo with two russians that were so charming they kind of sold me on the species. I had done some research and was originally intending on adopting a russian. I was going to adopt rather than purchase because there seem to be more of them looking for homes after a few years.

Well, a family friend has a sulcata they are looking to re-home. It actually sounds like a sort of non-tortoise friendly home. The enclosure is too small for the animal and the UV lamp burned out about a month ago and has not been replaced. The tortoise is being fed a diet of lettuce and peas. This tortoise is also having weakness in its hind legs. I think its a UV issue but the owner thinks its lack of exercise. I have been offered this animal. I have not yet met the tortoise and when asked how long it was I was given a measurement of around 10-12 inches and told it weights about as much as a cinder block. Its around 11 years old. It does have some mild to moderating tenting or pyramiding.