Local Petland Sulcata :\

Status
Not open for further replies.

ehopkins12

5 Year Member
hey! umm...heres a couple pictures of a sulcata at a local petland. I'm no expert, but I think it's pretty unhealthy. It's living conditions just seem sad. but again I don't really know much. I don't even really know why i'm posting this. I just kinda wish something could be done i guess.
0226001932.jpg

0226001927.jpg

his shell just doesn't look right...but again I don't really know.

0208001345.jpg

they let him roam around the store, although every time i go in he's just laying there. I saw him eating one time (grassland tortoise pellets) I don't know it just seems wrong to let him walk around on the floor all the time and i don't think his diet is right. just seems wrong i guess, I really don't know why i'm posting this! It's not like anything can be done! He's their "store pet" so he's not for sale.

Stephanie Logan

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Colorado
OMG, I cannot look at these kind photos anymore, it's so upsetting. :(

Can you access a few photos of a normal Sulcata shell, and a care sheet (like that African tortoise one that Maggie always recommends to newbies), and speak to them very pleasantly but concernedly about what a healthy tortoise shell should look like, versus this poor animal who is probably actively hurting and may now have lifelong disability due to the condition they have allowed him to deteriorate into? :(

Maybe they just don't know how badly they are treating him, and if you tactfully pointed this out to them, they may feel just as guilty as I did when I realized how horribly we had been caring for Taco, and change their ways?

ehopkins12

5 Year Member
well i don't believe that they have had him for very long. whoever the previous owner was is most likely the culprit. it just doesn't seem like they're are doing anything to improve the situation.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California